Bangladeshi Taka: Your Complete Guide to Bangladesh’s Money

  << 5 Facts about the Bulgarian Lev You May Not Know>> You Complete Currency Guide: Bahamian Dollar

Home to over 2% of the world’s population, Bangladesh is the eighth-most-populous country in the world. Whether you have family or friends who live there, plan on traveling there, or are simply curious, there is a lot to learn about Bangladesh’s currency, the Bangladeshi taka.

The taka, which uses the currency code “BDT” and the symbol “৳,”  is a relatively modern currency issued by the country’s central bank, the Bangladesh Bank. One taka is made up of 100 poishas.

Bangladeshi currency is available in both coins and banknotes.

Coins come in the following denominations:

  • 1, 5, 10, 25, and 50 poishas
  • 1, 2, and 5 takas

Banknotes come in the following denominations:

  • 1; 2; 5; 10; 20; 50; 500; and 1,000 takas

Bangladeshi Taka

Exchange Rates

To see the current Bangladeshi taka-to-dollar exchange rate, check out today’s rate with Remitly.

5 Facts About the Taka

1. The word “taka” comes from Sanskrit.

Etymologically speaking, “taka” comes from the ancient Sanskrit word “tankah.” In Sanskrit, “tankah” described an ancient silver coin. Across India, where the Sanksrit language originated, you will find that “taka” has taken on other meanings. Today, Bangladeshi people generally describe any form of money or cash as “taka.”

2. One-taka notes and coins are different.

You’ll find that notes and coins in the denomination of one taka are unique compared to those worth more. First, the signature of the Central Bank governor is printed on every banknote aside from the one-taka bill. This is because the one-taka note falls under the Bangladeshi Ministry of Economy.

One-taka coins are also different from other denominations. They are hardly ever used. They are so rare that if you have a chance to visit, you will most likely never come across one. They are no longer in circulation because they are now worth so little as a result of inflation.

3. One person is featured on taka banknotes.

Some countries have a different notable person on each denomination of banknote and coin; however, the Bangladeshi taka only represents one person: Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was a political leader who is still highly revered and commemorated today. “Bangabandhu” translates to “friend of Bengal.” Often referred to as the Father of the Nation, he strived to make life better and more fair for the Bangladeshi people, and ultimately established a democracy. He was assassinated in 1975.

Although every standard taka features the same person, the different denominations are printed in various vibrant colors, such as purple, pink, green, yellow, blue, and brown.

4. Commemorative Banknotes

Bangladesh has different versions of banknotes to commemorate special events in history.

  • 40th Victory Anniversary of Bangladesh
    • In 2011, 40-taka banknotes were printed to honor those who died fighting for Bangladeshi independence in 1971. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman is featured on the note, along with the National Martyr’s Monument in Savar. The image of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman is different from the typical representation on non-commemorative banknotes.
  • 60 years of National Language Movement
  •  25th anniversary (silver jubilee) of the Security Printing Corporation
    • In 2013, 25-taka banknotes were printed with the National Martyr’s Monument in Savar on them.
  • 100th anniversary of the Bangladesh National Museum
    • In 2013, 100-taka banknotes were printed as a special edition with terracotta art featured as a tribute to the museum.

Bangladeshi Taka

5. Criminals have produced counterfeit taka.

With the use of modern technology, it is becoming easier to counterfeit money. In 2020, notorious criminals for counterfeiting money got their hands on software so effective it replicated both the watermarks and the security threads printed by the Bangladesh Bank’s mint. Those involved were charged.

The Modern History of the Taka

The taka did not exist as a currency until after Bangladesh became an independent nation in 1971. Bangladesh gained independence from Pakistan after a long and violent war, the Bangladesh War of Independence. When Bangladesh was still East Pakistan, it used the Pakistani rupee as its form of currency.

As a new, independent nation, Bangladesh declared the taka as its official currency and began printing it in 1972. Throughout the years, Bangladesh has produced money in higher denominations, like the 50-taka note starting in 1977 and the 1,000-taka note starting in 2008.

Sending Money to Bangladesh

You can send money to Bangladesh with Remitly. New customers may be eligible for a special offer on their first transfer.

Remitly makes international money transfers faster, easier, more transparent, and more affordable. Since 2011, over 5 million people have used our secure mobile app to send money home with peace of mind. Visit the homepage, download our app, or check out our Help Center to get started.

Further Reading

If you want to learn more about Bangladesh and its currency, check out these articles below.